Friday, November 14, 2014

Freed: Club Sin #4 by Stacey Kennedy - Blog Tour, Review & Giveaway




Freed
Club Sin #3.5
By: Stacey Kennedy
Releasing November 4th, 2014
Loveswept


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19156832-freed


 
Perfect for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey, the Club Sin series continues with Freed, a wicked, wild novel from USA Today bestselling author Stacey Kennedy.

Mary Schmidt knows only too well how thrilling a Master’s touch can be. Her husband, Charles, had been her ultimate fantasy, a seducer in the erotic dance of dominance and submission. She misses the sensual lifestyle they shared, but mourns him so deeply she cannot bear to embrace her submissive needs with another Dom—until a man who exudes temptation reawakens desires she can no longer deny.

Elliott Foster is dazzled by Mary. He instantly knows that she’s the woman he’s been waiting for—a woman who turns games into need. As her Master, he dares to unlock the deepest pleasures of her flesh, releasing her from pain and healing her mind. When Mary’s lithe body comes to life under his, he knows their connection goes beyond sex. Now that he has found the perfect woman, the perfect partner, the perfect submissive, he desires only to give her everything she craves.



Amazon | Barnes | iBooks | Kobo 



While the story is well written and emotional, there are certain elements that I found annoying.  

Mary lost her husband Charles, but never really dealt with her loss.  When she meets Elliot, she finds herself drawn the the Dom, but feels like she is betraying her late husband.  Even while they are intimate, she is constantly flashing back to her life him him.  I can understand it happening at the beginning, but it keeps happening throughout the story.  Normally, I tend to side with the heroine of the story, but in this case, I was on Elliot's side.

I wasn't expecting to read about a middle aged couple.  Nowhere in the book's description or cover are their ages mentioned or portrayed.  With that said, I think it's great to see an middle aged couple portrayed in a sensual book

Instant love is alive and well in this book.  Elliot seems to have fallen instantly for Mary, and even though she is in denial over her feelings, so does she fall for Elliot.  I'm not a huge fan of instant love, I would rather see the couple relationship build through the story.

While this is not my favorite book in the series, it's still a nice story about dealing with loss and moving forward with life.  The story is sensual with a light touch of BDSM.   





Stacey Kennedy is the USA Today bestselling author of the Club Sin series. Growing up, Stacey’s mind wandered the path less traveled, and that path most often led to love. She has always broken rules and she continues to feed off emotion—always staying true to her heart. Those traits are now the bones of her stories. She lives in southwestern Ontario with her husband, who puts any of the heroes in her books to shame, and their two young children. If she’s not on Mom duty or plugging away at a new story, you’ll find Stacey camping in the summer, hibernating in the winter, and obsessing over Penny Dreadful, Game of Thrones, and Sons of Anarchy.





 


1 comment: